Working at the office, home or from vacation? Sage Drive might be the answer to your backup concerns!

We have had users working with cloud services like Dropbox, One Drive… Sage 50 backup files which are cab files can be saved on those cloud services (copy/paste) but Sage 50 database can have synchronization issues if the sai file and saj folder are used directly on the cloud service. Sage 50 has not tested in that environment, so Sage support will not apply when the database is saved directly a cloud service. Sage will launch a cloud service soon. The database will be local but an updated backup of the file is on the cloud server.

Starting mid-April for Sage 50 business partners and end of April for users on a service plan, Sage 50 will introduce Sage Drive.

This new service will be available for users on a service plan. It will be deployed with Sage 50 2015.2 update. So the feature will be available only after installing that update on the computer. Update 2015.2 should be available starting from mid to end of April depending on the type of your current Sage 50 service.

The way this service works is that the database (sai file and saj folder) will be on the local computer. The local file also shared on Sage Drive server will be synchronized so that the data file is updated both locally (sai file and saj folder) and on Sage Drive (cab file).

Users will need to have a Sage ID. Sage Drive needs to be activated the first time using it. After, other users can be added to the account. One accountant can be added. Another user or the accountant can access the database stored on Sage Drive. One requirement is to be in single user to access the shared company.

The shared company can be accessible from anywhere you have Sage 50 installed and access to an internet connection.

Once the share is done you will basically have a backup file (cab file) saved on Sage Drive. That file will be updated as long as it is shared. Any authorized user can then access and restore the shared company file. Please note that only one user can work on the shared company at a time. After 1 hour inactivity the account is automatically released so that it can accessed by other users.

There are some restrictions when the database is on share mode:

-          No Outlook synchronization.

-          Third party applications are on read-only access.

-          Accountant’s copy cannot be created.

-          Consolidation feature is not available.

Those restrictions are removed when the database is back into not-shared mode.

Anonymous