What is the difference between closing a Purchase receipt and deleting a Purchase receipt?

When a purchase order is created then a receipt is processed to receive the product into stock but the incorrect quantity was received, it is possible to delete the PO receipt even if the stock accounting interface has been processed on this receipt.

If the whole receipt needs to be deleted, selecting “Change receipts” from the action button and deleting the line will delete the whole PO receipt if one line exists on the receipt and the product will be removed from stock.

When the PO receipt is deleted, Sage X3 will create one journal entry if stock accounting FUNSTKACC was not processed on the PO receipt previously and it will credit the received not invoiced clearing account, will process a debit to the Purchase price variance, then will debit received not invoiced and finally, it will credit the purchase price variance account.

If the accounting interface was processed after the creation of the receipt, Sage X3 will create the first journal entry with credit to received not invoiced clearing account and a debit to the purchase price variance. After the deletion of the PO receipt, Sage X3 will process a second journal entry with a debit to the received not invoiced clearing account and credit to the purchase price variance account.

If a purchase receipt was created and the product needs to stay in stock but no purchase invoice will be processed against this PO receipt, the PO receipt can be closed by clicking the “Close receipt” button within the PO receipt.

Once the PO receipt is closed, a purchase invoice cannot be processed on it and when the FUNSTKACC is ran, Sage X3 will debit and credit the received not invoiced clearing account and will debit and credit the purchase price variance with the same amounts.

Anonymous
  • Go to the closed PO Receipt. Click on the line and you will see Closed option. When you click on it, it will re-open the line. Doing so for all receipt lines will unclose it. 

  • Please note that when closing a supplier receipt, you are saying to the system there is no supplier invoice, hence no cost. As a consequence, the order price of a closed supplier receipt (with no invoice) is zero. This will impact a lot your Average base amount! My advise is to remove the close button from most of the end-user profile. 
    PS: you cannot unclose a receipt....