Archiving Employees - Employee # already exists in archive file.

I want to move my past/terminated employees over to the archive folder, however there is already an archived employee with the same number of one I am looking to move. Any thoughts on what will happen, or what I can to to keep the records for both individuals in archive? Thanks!