New in Sage 50cloud Release 2021.0: Remote Data Access

With the release of Sage 50cloud 2021.0, the service formerly known as Sage Drive has been transformed into Remote Data Access. The technology has been improved and new features have been added to make managing users in a shared company easier and more powerful than ever before!

Upgrade to Cloud ID technology

The technology that powers Sage ID has been upgraded to Cloud Identity (Cloud ID). Cloud ID facilitates a single sign-on service experience for all connected services, including Remote Data Access.

Although the technology behind Sage ID has changed, the name has not, and the single sign-on Cloud ID will still be referred to as Sage ID.  All cloud connected services using the legacy Sage ID must migrate to the new Sage ID (Cloud ID) by March 2021.  

For current Sage Drive users on 2020.2 and earlier that are upgrading to 2021.0, the shared companies will have to be migrated to the new Sage ID (Cloud ID).  For the steps to migrate a Sage Drive company shared in a previous version to Remote Data Access in Release 2021.0, please visit Sage Knowledgebase Article 105896.

Improvements to User Security

In 2021.0 the Sage 50 user management and Remote Data Access sharing have been integrated.  This means that user management for Remote Data Access is now handled through the User Security screen in Sage 50 rather than having to go to a separate Internet site to add or remove users to a shared company.

As you can see below, the Email/Sage ID column has been added to User Security: 

Also, all admins in Sage 50 will now have data owner rights to pause and resume sharing, or even stop sharing!

For more information about Remote Data Access visit our Sage Knowledgebase.

So don’t hesitate; get upgraded to the new Sage 50cloud 2021.0 release and take advantage of the enhanced security and convenience of the new Remote Data Access!

Anonymous
Parents
  • Does this mean that you can only access a Sage Drive Company through your Sage ID?  If I remove access to the user, will they be prevented from accessing the company data already on their computer?

  • It is true that you can only access a shared Remote Data Access (previously known as Sage Drive) company through Sage ID, but that has not changed; the same was true with Sage Drive.  If you remove a user from a shared company, that user will not be able to sign into the company as long as it is being shared through Remote Data Access/Sage Drive.

  • This is a terrible hindrance in our functionality and is not completely explained in the materials released for Remote Data Access.  We feel that Remote Data Access was marketed to us with the understanding that we could share with only those that needed access, such as an Administrator or Finance Manager while keeping the server connection option for our in office clerks.  As described in your response, we have can either share the company with all users via Remote Data Access, or no users?

Comment
  • This is a terrible hindrance in our functionality and is not completely explained in the materials released for Remote Data Access.  We feel that Remote Data Access was marketed to us with the understanding that we could share with only those that needed access, such as an Administrator or Finance Manager while keeping the server connection option for our in office clerks.  As described in your response, we have can either share the company with all users via Remote Data Access, or no users?

Children
  • I apologize for not answering this question sooner, I just didn't see it.  If you share the company over Remote Data Access, the company is onboarded to the cloud, so any users that access it would need to sign into the cloud with their Sage ID.  This doesn't preclude local users from accessing the company over the local network the way they normally do, but in order to access the company that is shared on the cloud, they do have to sign in with their Sage ID.  The good news is that once they're signed into the cloud, that token is good for 90 days, so they will not have to keep signing back into Sage ID.  When they open Sage, they will just sign into the company with their normal user name and password, so the user experience will be the same as what they're used to.