Removing Old customer

I am trying to remove old customers but receive the message 'cannot remove this customer until all its transactions have been cleared'  

When I click on the 'Maintenance' tab, the 'clear data' option is not an available (not highlighted) option to click.

Sage 50 Pro 2020 Desktop version. 

Any advice?